Website review



Posted on June 27, 2022 in Latest news from the department, Press room

HONOLULU — The Small Business Regulatory Review Board (SBRRB) of the Department of Business, Economic Development and Tourism (DBEDT) has announced its officers for the 2022 to 2023 fiscal year.

Robert Cundiff, President (O’ahu) – Mr. Cundiff has been a board member since 2015 and has been president of the SBRRB for three years. He is one of the principals of Lokama Group, a management and business consulting service.

Mary AlbitzVice President (Maui) – A member since 2018, Ms. Albitz is the owner of Island Art Party, a painting and tasting studio located in Kihei.

Jonathan ShikSecond Vice President (O’ahu) – Mr. Shick works for Pono Consulting Group LLC and has been SBRRB since 2019.

Other council members are Nancy Atmospera-Walch (O’ahu), Garth Yamanaka (Hawai’i), James (Kimo) Lee (Hawai’i), Will Lydgate (Kaua’i), and Taryn Rodighiero (Kaua’i) , and newly appointed board members Sanford Morioka (O’ahu) and Tessa Gomes (O’ahu).

“The SBRRB oversees Hawaii’s more than 105,000 small businesses for rules and regulations promulgated by state and county agencies. I believe the SBRRB is very committed to improving the regulatory climate in the state for the benefit of small businesses. We appreciate the board members for volunteering their time and expertise to this program,” said Mike McCartney, Director of DBEDT.

“The SBRRB is now at full capacity and remains open for business,” said SBRRB Administrator Dori Palcovich. “Stay tuned for innovative changes to the site in the coming months.”

Chairman Cundiff said, “We encourage small businesses that may have specific regulatory issues with Hawaii’s administrative rules to join the monthly meetings.”

Meetings are held at 250 S. Hotel Street, Conference Room 436, Honolulu, as well as remotely at:

For more information on the SBRRB, visit the website at

About the SBRRB Board of Directors

The SBRRB was created on July 1, 1998 with the passage of the Small Business Regulatory Flexibility Act. The responsibilities of the SBRRB include:

1) Comment on Small Business Impact Statements to Rule Writing Agencies.

2) Identification and comments on the commercial impact of the existing administrative rules.

3) Recommendations to the Office of the Governor, State Agencies, or the Legislature for the need for an administrative rule or legislative change.

4) Recommendations to mayors or county councils regarding county rules; and

5) Review of small business petitions and complaints regarding business impact.

The SBRRB is composed of ten (10) volunteer members who are current or former business owners or officers from across the state, and the Director of the DBEDT or designate of the Director, who serves as an “ex-officio” member. “. Three members are appointed by the President of the Senate, three members by the Speaker of the House, two members by the SBRRB, and two appointed by the Governor.

Additionally, the nominations reflect representation from a variety of businesses in the state with no more than two members from the same type of business and at least one representative from each county.

About the Department of Business, Economic Development and Tourism (DBEDT)
DBEDT is Hawaii’s resource center for economic and statistical data, business development opportunities, energy and conservation information, and foreign trade benefits. DBEDT’s mission is to achieve a Hawaiian economy that embraces innovation and is globally competitive, dynamic and productive, providing opportunity for all Hawaiian citizens. Through its attached agencies, the ministry promotes planned community development, creates affordable workforce housing in high-quality living environments, and promotes job growth in the employment sector. innovation.

# # #

Media contacts:

Charlene Chan

Department of Business, Economic Development and Tourism

(808) 824-0134

[email protected]

Source link